This was just leaked but something seems off
Unless that's some elaborate 1-year-ahead-of-a-time mockup of a card that's actually gonna come in 2017. IIRC R&D works on sets like three years ahead of a time, so it's entirely possible some cards for the beginning of 2017 are already determined.
Non-magicfag here. I'm confused. How can you spoil Magic? Wouldn't you get the story the exact same way anyway? By reading it off the cards?
Spoiling what cards are going to be in the set, not the story. You're probably right; it's not the best term for what we're doing, but that's the convention now.
As for the card, it's probably fake but I could see something like that
when we return to Lorwyn in September
Found the original art.
Anyone see this?
It's perfectly believable considering Wizards has recently been dumping a bunch of "worse" versions of cherished cards at Rare and above. See Honored Hierarch.
Same reason why the Not-Tarmogoyf fake was also perfectly believable.
See the new cards. Madness wording was changed for SOI, friend.
Now I'm confused.
This is the wording on the original card printed in Time Spiral.
>Madness R (If you discard this card, you may play it for its madness cost instead of putting it into your graveyard.)
This is the wording on the gatherer oracle.
>Madness R (If you discard this card, you may cast it for its madness cost instead of putting it into your graveyard.)
Pic related is the wording on the Fiery Temper spoiled reprint.
>Madness R, If you discard this card, discard it i____. When you do, cast it for its madness cost or put it into your graveyard.
(The only word that makes sense in the blank space is instead, but what the fuck would be the reason for this wording? Anyone have any suggestions?)
So not only is the wording on the card not in line with the current wording (it uses CAST instead of play), they seem to be changing the wording with SOI too.
>wedge colored a year after a wedge set
>five lines across four abilities on a land
>three different downsides that will confuse the hypothetical idiot new player they are designing for these days
Even putting aside the issues with the presentation this is obviously fake. Maro isn't lead for the block but there's still no way he'd give this a greenlight.
That guy is full of shit. They didn't change the wording; Madness just works differently on MTGO now, by putting the card into a special zone first.
It is consistent with the new wording though.
502.24a Madness represents two abilities. The first is a static ability of cards that functions while the card is in a player's hand. The second is a triggered ability that functions whenever the first ability is applied. The phrase "Madness [cost]" means "If a player would discard this card from his or her hand, that player discards it, but may remove it from the game instead of putting it into his or her graveyard," and "Whenever this card is removed from the game this way, until he or she passes next, he or she may play it any time he or she could play an instant as though it were in his or her hand by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. When he or she passes next, he or she puts it into his or her graveyard."
502.24c Any time you discard a card which has madness, you have the option to remove it from the game (to play it using its madness ability) or not. If you remove it from the game, the second part of the madness ability triggers. When this ability resolves, you have the option of playing the spell for its madness cost. You can only play it the very next time you could play an instant this turn. If it's an instant or sorcery, put it into your graveyard when it resolves. If it's an artifact, creature or enchantment, put it into play when it resolves.
Remove from game = Exile
>trademarked & copyrighted 2018 Wizards of the Coast
But what does it say?!
>When you discard this card, discard it with Madness
I fucking hope this is it. I want to slam the cards onto the table and shout in my opponent's face as I do it.
The only reason it used them was because of a unique interaction with Amulet of Vigor and Bloom. Apart from those, Karoos have never seen play in Modern.
But then, why would they? They threaten the hegemony of shock/fetchlands which WotC knows will move product. Printing something to compete with them reduces that ability.
Because the new wording describes how Madness actually works.
>702.34a Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with madness is in a player’s hand. The second is a triggered ability that functions when the first ability is applied. “Madness [cost]” means “If a player would discard this card, that player discards it, but may exile it instead of putting it into his or her graveyard” and “When this card is exiled this way, its owner may cast it by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. If that player doesn’t, he or she puts this card into his or her graveyard.”
>702.34b Casting a spell using its madness ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
The guy being responded to said that the hypothetical cycle of lands would see no play. Obviously that's completely incorrect, as the Ravnica karoos saw play in standard in their time, and these are better due to color flexibility. He quickly moved the goalposts to suggest that karoos have never seen play in "eternal formats" (Modern of course isn't an eternal format, but he brought up shocks, which implies he thinks it is). That's also a factually incorrect statement, as amulet bloom relied heavily on karoo lands before the bans rendered the deck more or less unplayable. Now you're attempting to move the goalposts again by saying that they aren't better than shocks and fetches, which is completely unrelated to the initial claim.
Also, you seem to be insinuating that Shocks and Fetches are the only lands that drive booster sales, which is also blatantly false. Standard is the biggest driver of sales, and any rare duals are going to move product, as they'll be necessary for high-level standard play
TL;DR: That guy is wrong, you're wrong(assuming you're not him), please stop making a fool of yourself.